How to Add a User to Your HubSpot Portal Account

By March 14, 2018HubSpot

For customers using HubSpot’s marketing platform, you can have multiple users in your portal account, for no extra cost. These user accounts are very easy to add, edit, and delete. Feel free to read through these instructions or scroll down to the video below where I walk you through each step.

  1. First, navigate to your account settings in the upper right.
  2. Click on the avatar picture and scroll down and click where it says “Settings”.
  3. On the left menu, look for “Users & Teams” and click there.
  4. Now you should see a list of your current users and their access level information.
  5. Click on the orange button that says “Create User”.

A form will slide in from the right requesting the information for the new user. Input the email address – if the user is already in the HubSpot system, you don’t have to input the first and last name. Otherwise continue on entering the new user information.

  • First name
  • Last name

Next you’re going to set the access levels for the new user. This part of the process has grown in complexity to have some very granular control, but there are some valuable options here to protect your content and contact database.

Contacts – This is the first tab and covers the important information as it relates to your marketing contacts. This is the information people have directly shared with you or it has been imported manually.

  • View
    1. Everything
    2. Team only
    3. Owned only
  • Edit
    1. Everything
    2. Team only
    3. Owned only
    4. None
  • Bulk delete – Keep this toggle button turned off unless you want the user to be able to delete contacts in bulk
  • Import – Same thing here, keep it turned off unless you want the user to be able to import contacts in bulk
  • Export – Possibly the most important to protect, keep this features turned off unless you want the user to be able to download all your contacts
  • Workflows – Applies to Professional and Enterprise only
  • Edit property settings

Marketing – In the second tab, here is where admins can define access level for marketing tools like the blog, emails, landing pages and website pages.

  • Ads, here you’re only given the options for publish or read. Blog, landing pages, website pages all have three options for either publish, write, or read.
  • Social publishing has a dropdown for either all accounts, their accounts only, or none.
  • Lists, forms, and reporting all have toggle switches for off and on.
  • Edit code templates & modules, this should be turned on for users like me who need access to update templates and install them.
  • Content staging and edit content settings

Sales tab and Partner tab are not common in most portals so that will be skipped for now. In the Admin tab you have a chance to add some privileges that the super admins have.

  • Add and edit users
  • Add and edit teams
  • Edit account defaults
  • Modify billing & change name on account
  • Edit reports ownership

The actions button in the upper right is a shortcut to all these settings where you can just set someone as a Super Admin. Be mindful who you share this setting with though as they will have access to everything, including the contact database. Also here you can reset the password or remove user.